Nagaoka MP-110, or Ortofon 2M Red...?

penkosey

Not an arbitrary comparison....I'm really concerned about a decently priced cartridge that tracks exceptionally and handles the inner grooves well (of course, with overall sound quality being important also). These two seem to get good reviews on these characteristics, and are both similarly priced.

Some reviews have championed the Nagoaka MP-110 as keeping inner-groove distortion to a barely perceptible level. I'm curious about this claim. The cheaper, next-level-down Nagaoka MP-100 gets such glowing reviews that it makes think the 110 must be pretty dang good.

Thanks for any thoughts on pros & cons or thoughts on these 2 carts....or any thoughts on other potentially exellent trackings carts in regard to handling the inner grooves. By the way, this would be going on a Harman Kardon T-45 C turntable, if that makes any difference as far as compliance/compatibility....

:)

G'day all, I have no experience with the Nagaoka, but I have some experience with the Ortofon 2M Red and my feeling is that the inner groove tracking performance of the Ortofon 2M Red is slightly suspect.

Correct overhang set up can minimise the issue, but not quite completely, in my opinion unfortunately. Regards, Felix aka catman.

The predecessor to the newer Nagaoka MP-110 was the Nagaoka MP-11.

It is still available from some sources like LPgear, though the price has gone up a bit lately.
http://www.lpgear.com/product/NAGAOKAMP011.html

The stylus for the

Nagaoka MP-11 is 0.3 x 0.7 mil

Nagaoka MP-110 is 0.4 x 0.7 mil

Don't know which one has the least IGD-inner groove distortion perception.:scratch2:

. . . that Nagaoka is a *really* *REALLY* good cart for the money. It would take a lot for me to part with mine. (The only cart I own that beats it, and not by too much, is the AT-120E.)

~Good luck,
Dave