Need help with AKAI GXC-730D Cassette Deck

data_lore

I'll begin by saying that I'm a total newbie to cassette decks and vintage audio equipment.

I found an old AKAI cassette deck that i'm having some problems with. First off I want to mention that the belts look pretty old and my assumption was that they need replacing so I went ahead and bought a new set which should arrive sometime next week at which point i'll install the new belts and of course post an update.

However, I do have other problems with this deck. The RECORD switch will not move and I cant seem to get it to budge. I've looked all around the inside to see if I can prod at anything to get it to move but I can't seem to get it unstuck. I haven't disassembled it any further than removing the wood paneling cover and the two metal faceplates that belong on the front of the cassette deck, mainly because I don't want to f*ck anything up, but if I absolutely need to then i'm prepared to do so. Here's a video of the problem-

The other problem it has is that with a cassette in the deck i'll hit play and the tape will move but it will just switch to reverse play on it's own and then shut off on it's own. I have no clue what's causing this but I think that it has something to do with the RECORD switch being stuck or it might be the old belts. Here's a video of this problem (if you'll notice in the video, the meters are not moving. Is this because i don't have speakers hooked up or is there another problem here?) -

I have a third issue which I think is due entirely to the age of the belts where the forward and rewind will work normally when the switch is actuated but it will quickly begin to drag and soon come to stop and then the switch flips up on it's own as if the cassette were finished being rewinded or forwarded. I haven't made a video of this yet but I will put one up tomorrow.