Need help with PC set up .

paulvo

Hi everyone , I'm new to this Digital setup . I want to play music from a Laptop ( Dell with Window 7 ) to a DAC and to my Preamp > Amp > Speaker . Here is my question : I want to connect a Laptop to DAC using a USB cable but on my Laptop I can only get the sound out from Head phone input. Nothing coming out of USB input . Do I need a new Sound card with USB ? Please chime in and give me some instruction on how to do this.
Thanks
Paulvo

Hi everyone , I'm new to this Digital setup . I want to play music from a Laptop ( Dell with Window 7 ) to a DAC and to my Preamp > Amp > Speaker . Here is my question : I want to connect a Laptop to DAC using a USB cable but on my Laptop I can only get the sound out from Head phone input. Nothing coming out of USB input . Do I need a new Sound card with USB ? Please chime in and give me some instruction on how to do this.
Thanks
Paulvo
In order to accomplish what you're setting out to do, the DAC in question must specifically state on its packaging/in its manual that it outputs audio signals via USB 2.0/3.0. Otherwise, you merely have a physical cable spanning two points with no active transfer of data. It's the settings in the DAC's software in Windows/Linux that facilitate output to the preamp/amp. You do not need a new sound card, as the audio signal will be routed directly through the DAC connected to your laptop via a USB port, bypassing your sound card en route to the preamp/amp.

Last edited:
Hi KDAC ,
Thanks for a quick respond . Right now I used a DAC with my CDP and DVD with no problem . I can't make the Laptop communication with the DAC via Audioquest Cinamon USB A>B . Somebody told me I have to make the select on my Laptop but I can't find where I can do that .
Thanks

Is your DAC recognized as a playback device in Windows? Go to Sound settings in Control Panel and you should see an option to select the DAC as the audio output.