need some capacitors, can't find online.

CKDC

I just got a Yamaha AX 400 integrated amplifier. The bad news is that I paid $20.00 for it. The bad news is that it needs some capacitors replaced. Otherwise it looks pretty clean and sounded okay for the little bit I listened to it.

I went to Mouser and Digikey, among others to find two 8200 µF 63 volt electrolytic capacitors. I can order some and wait the expected 21 weeks for delivery.

Where else could I find these?

Is there something else I could substitute? (the current ones are 25mm and there is not much room to go wider.)

Oh, and I pretty much exhausted my knowledge of capacitors writing this post. I am a noob at this sort of thing.

Thanks!

You can increase the voltage to find another that is in stock, you could also increase the capacitance to 10,000 uf safely.
What makes you think they're bad? Often there is glue on the base of the capacitors that is mistaken for leakage.
Post a picture if you can.

This is what is in there now.

I checked the repair manual and it lists them as 63 volt. I am curious why these say 63 W V. What is the significance of the "W?"

LZRMu-zrlJFG0zuSo0uHLRVaBuvLJ6mF-qVmbh2Rr1g

Last edited:
This is why I suspect they are bad. There is a mix of the orange and purple. Plus, the wire connections are corroded. Would just the glue cause corrosion?

A8Bi8KSwchGU5uxUauizjeRQUGGbuRkk9X7cHrZeE7k

Your pictures didn't post.
Yes - sometimes the glue can cause corrosion.
I've seen caps rated in WV but never seen an explanation - I don't think it's a relevant factor.

Last edited:
IIRC 'WV' means Working Voltage.
Correct.
Capacitors should be PCB mounted or held securely using a proper capacitor clip. Having caps held it place with cable ties, hot melt glue, blue tack, chewing gum or string etc. is not good practice.

Those caps look finefrom here - no bulging at the top.