Need some help finding a new work car...

SPL db

It's all about the music!
Subscriber
My current work car needs more work than I car to put in it and I'm ready for something different anyway.

With the short notice, I only have a couple of G's to work with. Leasing or financing is not an option at this point unfortunately.

I've been wrenching on cars for over 30 years so I know what to look for when searching.

My current work car is a 2003 PT Cruiser, had it for almost six years now and actually, the first 5 years were almost trouble free aside from tires/brakes/battery/etc that you'll have with any car.

I asked the shop that was working on my car what were some of the brands of cars they saw the least of. They mentioned Honda's and Toyota's.

I'm reaching out to my fellow shade tree mechanics and the full-timers as well, what are some of the better cars out there that seem to run forever and can be had on the cheap?

I'm getting older so an auto tranny is a must (I can drive a stick, just don't care to everyday), a good A/C system is a must as well.

Miles don't scare me if I can find out the repair history.

Car has to last me two years or more where I'll be in a potion to replace it with something nicer, it's just that my back is against the wall at the moment.

Years ago I would have said a 6th gen Honda Accord, but then I found out how awful their automatic transmissions were- closed system with design flaws inside. A 5 speed 6th gen Accord however is bulletproof (aside from some electrical issues Hondas also seem to develop over time but if you can wrench yourself those are typically easy fixes.)
I've never owned a Toyota but I know they are supposed to be bulletproof as well.