Need Vandersteen 2C Woofer Help

MFaughn

AK Subscriber
Subscriber
I very cool guy just gave me a pair of Vandersteen 2C. They've got issues though. One definitely has both woofer with VC rub. The 10" won't play at all. The other one sounds OK in the garage with a crappy receiver driving it so it *might* be alright but I'm not certain of it. I am pretty sure the mids and tweets are alright on both.

The woofers are Vifa P21WO-15. Obviously this is an OEM part number. Anybody know if anything else will sound right in that spot? Any of the other P21 variants?

As for the 10" finding a replacement is moot because they have a lot of added mass on the cone and I'm guessing only Vandersteen knows what they've done.

I was wondering if there was any hope for repair using the cones and baskets I have? I don't think it is a matter of surrounds and spiders but I am far from an expert on these things. Any hope that someplace like MillerSound could make 'em right?

And on the off chance that somebody has some loose drivers that'll fix me up and that they are willing to part with I am all ears.

Thanks for any words of advice, insight, sarcasm, or even nonesense.

I very cool guy just gave me a pair of Vandersteen 2C. They've got issues though. One definitely has both woofer with VC rub. The 10" won't play at all. The other one sounds OK in the garage with a crappy receiver driving it so it *might* be alright but I'm not certain of it. I am pretty sure the mids and tweets are alright on both.

The woofers are Vifa P21WO-15. Obviously this is an OEM part number. Anybody know if anything else will sound right in that spot? Any of the other P21 variants?

As for the 10" finding a replacement is moot because they have a lot of added mass on the cone and I'm guessing only Vandersteen knows what they've done.