New guy has 500C prepped in the OR.

TubeDroid

Hi all,
A few years ago (8 or 10, maybe?) my brother-in-law GAVE (!) me a 500C (S/N 66645U) that he had hauled out of his father's console. I took it home and immediately plugged it in and put my headphones on and I was astounded at the capture and sensitivity of the FM, even in my basement and without any antenna.
I used it with the :music: for a couple of days and considered putting it into my production system until I started to do some internet research and found out that maybe I shouldn't have plugged it in right away and I'm guess I'm lucky that I didn't blow something up. :naughty:
I packed it up in a box with the thought that someday (not soon) I'd have a chance to do some restoration and mod work when both time and space permitted.
Well, two moves later that time is now, except that my bench is at the cottage and I still work for a living, so I can really only do things on the weekend, but the good thing is that I can spend the week preparing for what I want to accomplish on the weekend!
I started reading this forum a few weeks ago from it's genesis (I'm up to about Nov. 2015 so far), so I'm well versed in what needs to be done and what to avoid doing.:angel:

It looks pretty well stock, except that it seems that the Tape Monitor switch buggered up, so someone replaced it with a toggle type of switch instead of a slide switch, so it looks kind of wonky.......and the Low Filter thumb grip has broken off.......cosmetics/ergonomics come later, but I had no problem cleaning the faceplate and the extracting and cleaning the glass was a breeze; is the fact that this is a later model 500C mean that the glass isn't as fragile as the earlier models?

All the original 12AX7's are there, all West German except for two Great Britain's in the Multiplexer (V100 and V101).