New PC configuration: general use + music server

robert_kc

AK Subscriber
Subscriber
I’m not a PC expert – I’d appreciate any feedback about the following PC configuration.

My requirements for a new PC:

1. Quiet operation. (This PC will serve as a PC, and music server in my office.)
  2. I hate upgrading – I want this PC to last 6 – 8 years.
  3. Windows 10 installed
  4. No “adware”, “bloatware”, etc.
  5. General PC use: internet, email, word processing, spreadsheets, etc (No gaming)
  6. Function as music server for high-res (24bit/192kHz) FLAC via USB DAC.
  7. Optical output for possible future use (e.g., possible future optical DAC)
  8. USB interfaces: at least 4. Adequate “clean” power for USB powered DAC.
  9. Analog audio output: good quality stereo 2 channel. (For when I don’t want to use DAC / hi-fi.)
  10. CD drive
  11. SD memory slot
  12. Ethernet jack.
  13. Wireless keyboard & mouse

I was pleased with the support that I received from the salesperson at MicroCenter today. He recommended a custom built PC as follows:

718171 Corsair RM750 Series 750 Watt ATX Modular Power Supply $ 134.99
582270 Corsair Carbide Series 100R Silent Edition Mid-Tower Computer Case $ 64.99
207332 Intel Core i5-4590 3.3GHz LGA 1150 Boxed Processor $ 159.99
297267 Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB DDR3-1600 (PC3-12800) CL9 Dual Channel Desktop Memory Kit (Two 8GB Memory Modules) $ 79.99
572081 Crucial BX100 250GB SATA III 6Gb/s 2.5" Solid State Drive CT250BX100SSD1 $ 89.99
286161 Toshiba 2TB 7,200 RPM SATA III 6.0Gb/s Desktop 3.5" Internal Hard Drive PH3200U-1I72 $ 76.99
805424 Microsoft Windows 10 Home 64-bit English - 1pk DSP OEM DVD $ 99.99
592147 Samsung SH-224FB/BSBE 24x SATA Internal DVD Burner - OEM $ 14.99
574582 Gigabyte GA-Z97MX-GAMING LGA1150 mATX $ 119.99
888438 Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO Universal CPU Cooler $ 34.99
497966 Sabrent 75-in-1, 7-Slot USB 2.0 Internal Memory Card Reader & Writer - Black $ 9.99