New system advice

phire

Hi,

Noob here, so bare with me. I'm currently looking for a vintage marantz receiver, something along the lines of a 2226, 2230 or 2238. It will get used mostly to play mp3 from a external player or hooked up to the TV. Now then, i'm pretty much sold on getting a Marantz, even if the right deal has yet to present itself, but i have no idea which speakers to get. I'm leaning towards getting a set of used Bower & Wilkins DM302 which belong to a friend of a friend, for around 100€.

Being that my budget for receiver + speakers is around 350 to 400€, what you would advise me to get? I know that this question as been asked before, but around my town there aren't any thrift shops to look for this kind of equipment, so it would probably have to be bought from ebay, hence my many doubts.

Thanks.

That era of Marantz receivers is always a solid choice, provided the one you're getting is in working condition. If you can't find a Marantz, 70s Kenwood, Pioneer, and Harman/Kardon are solid options as well.

My best advice is to listen to the B&Ws before you buy them. If you like them, that's a really good price for them and you know they're in great condition. Be warned, however, that the B&W sound is not for everyone.

Once you get the system going, you may find yourself wanting to go with a better source than MP3. Follow your temptations in this case, it's worth it. ;)

Good luck on your journey.