New to Akai GX-77 -- Help!

intv7

Hi gang -- hoping someone can point me in the right direction. Any and all help would be much appreciated!!

I've just recently come into possession of an Akai GX-77 reel-to-reel deck and so far I am really enjoying it. However, I have never used a R2R deck before, and I must admit from the start that I am not the most technically knowledgeable about tape decks. I've had it for about 4-5 days, and just yesterday it started playing only the left channel when I play in reverse direction. When I play forward, they're fine.

It's my understanding that the tape head on the right side is what plays in forward direction, and the one on the left is the reverse. I've given it a good cleaning and it's still not playing the right channel. Any thoughts on what might be going on?

Thanks for your input!

-Kevin

Well, if it plays both channels going fwd, then you can (for now) rule out a problem with the preamps. Sounds like you first need to thoroughly clean the heads - and see how dirty the reverse direction playback head is! That might solve your problem. Use 91% or higher ISP alcohol and cotton swabs to do this if you haven't done it before.

Don't clean the rubber parts with this, however. Just the heads and guides.

See if that helps or not and then let us know.

You need to clean these switches with Deoxit. That should bring the channel back.

Attachments

• GX77.jpg
    GX77.jpg
    160.9 KB · Views: 56
Thanks so much for the suggestions.
Exactly which switches are these? Tough to tell on the schematic.

Last edited:
yea