New to Audiophile u-verse

Is this a good beginning set-up?

• Total voters

bdeihc

Hey All, newbie here... Just got my set-up going. I am new to this and sorta trying to find my footing but here is my set-up... I Inherited my mom's record collection and her husband gave me a TT for free to play them. I am really into vintage things right now and I was really into these vintage speakers I found so I added those in as well...

• TT - Pioneer PL-660 - Received for free - Circa 1985
  • Receiver - Harmon/Kardon HK-330 Vi - Purchased - Circa 1988
  • Speakers - Zenith Omnidirectional Speakers circa 1968

Just a few questions for some feedback and for my own knowledge...
  • Any feedback on each piece would be great
  • I really like the look of the speakers but am wondering am I getting great sound? Should I look for something in similar style that doesn't break the bank and gives me great quality sound?
  • I'm kinda really into the Kenwood receivers from the 60's and 70's for appearance and make..(specifically KR06400, or KA-7300) better receivers than the HK?

Thanks

B

Attachments

• IMG_5850.jpg
    IMG_5850.jpg
    53.4 KB · Views: 114
  • IMG_5849.JPG
    IMG_5849.JPG
    53.2 KB · Views: 113
  • IMG_5848.JPG
    IMG_5848.JPG
    96.7 KB · Views: 108
Yeah. Whether or not you like it all now, the urge to go up the ladder will probably hit. It's these darn sites! And of course, access to the internet in general. Never before have people had access to so much great audio equipment.

You have a nice system. Your speakers are unusual, with a 360 degree radiation pattern. Try them in different locations, and get used to how your albums sound through them. At some point, maybe get a different pair of speakers. They will sound different. Can you hear more things in your music?

Rinse and repeat...

:)

Thanks all! ...yeah I kinda have the bug... because I'm into the vintage aspect I kinda wanna check out various options from the 60's and 70's...