New to me JBL L100's

Steven Tate

CEO Flat Forehead Soc.
I love vintage speakers, with all of their shortcomings, but I've never had the legendary L100's. I know there is a love/hate tug of war among speaker afficionados, and I'm not in either camp.....yet. These were very clean externally. They have the original wood grille frames and newer grill inserts - but not the sculptured foam ones. I hooked them up to my Marantz 2325 that usually drives Klipsch Fortes, and my first impression is....pretty good. I'm not blown away yet. No significant distortion at quite high volume levels playing classic rock. Bass is strong but pretty muddy to me. I haven't fiddled with the presence and brilliance controls yet to see what effect they have. I know a lot of people hate the crossovers in these. Some leave them alone, some rebuild them and some burn them in the fireplace and get some exotic new ones. So.....since I'm new to these historically popular speakers, just looking for opinions about them over all and particularly opinions about the crossovers -- leave them alone, recap or upgrade to exotic?
Steve

IMG_1749_zps9kyyuo11.jpg

IMG_1750_zpsgflvlyoy.jpg

IMG_1751_zpsonmggilt.jpg

Steve, congrats on your new L100's :)

Here is a bump for you as I am shocked no one has responded to your question. I own L100T's so I'm no help on the L100 as they are 2 different speakers, but I would say replacing capacitors would be a good start.

Nice. If they were mine, I'd probably go for the bone stock approach. Clean the L pads, "refoam" the tweeters, get new waffle grills and oil the veneer. They're never going to sound very neutral without spending hundreds on exotic crossovers, so enjoy them for what they are. At most, I'd recap them and maybe plug the ports.

Steve, congrats on your new L100's :)