New to SACD... Can anyone school me?

Discussion in 'Digital Sources' started by jobrewer1983, Oct 13, 2016.

1. jobrewer1983

jobrewer1983 AK Subscriber Subscriber

Hi All,

I hope this is the correct area of AK to post a question regarding SACD's. If not, I can move the thread to the General postings. I just did not see a "CD" portion of AK. We have "Tape" though...

I recently picked up a (Denon DVD-5900) DVD-A/SACD player. I have really been enjoying CD's again, its been quite a while since I've purchased an actual CD. A good portion of my albums are in Flac/Mp3, or vinyl format. I do understand that the SACD is simply the DSD File. I know what the format is, but have a few questions I hope some folks can answer. Again, I'm new to SACD's as a format, but the single disc I did listen to was pretty damn amazing.

My questions:

1. I notice that quite a few of the SACD's specifically say for 5.1 audio. Does that mean they wont sound as good on a 2 channel set up? Do they make different SACD's for 5.1 and 2 channel set ups?

2. Direct Mode, and DSD Adaptors: The player can be played in Direct mode, and my amp (Pioneer Elite A-71) has the ability to receive and play in direct mode. While I have not tested this out yet, wondering if that will enhance the DSD Files? Also, will a DSD adaptor give any real upgrade to the sound quality. I know that is subjective, but if you have any info that would be helpful.

3. Is it possible to rip a SACD? I don't want to rip and convert to a lower grade format, I'm wondering if its possible to rip the DSD File directly off the disc? Not sure I would do it, but is this possible?

Lastly,

Any good suggestions on albums to pick up in SACD? I'm sure I will be looking for all my favorite albums in SACD, I ordered the "Dire Straits, Brothers in Arms" album, cant wait to test it out. The CD, is good, the Vinyl is great, so I'm hoping the SACD is even better.

Thank you for the time!

Kind Regards,
    John