New to turntables, started with a Magnavox console

Discussion in 'Turntables' started by archibael, Jun 14, 2018.

1. archibael

archibael KnowsEnoughToBeDangerous

Howdy.

I've been playing around with some old Magnavox consoles from the late 1960s because I kind of enjoy the look of them.

I'm new to vinyl, unless you count the stuff I used to listen to Read Along Storybooks when I was a wee lad. I expect pops and crackles here and there but on the Magnavox system I'm playing with now (with a W821 turntable) I get severe distortion on certain midrange vocal frequencies and sibilants on the left channel, or maybe both channels-- I'm swapping between two different old cartridges, and on the current one the problem only seems to be on the left channel, but it seemed to be on the right too on the other cartridge. Seems to be limited to the inner tracks, mostly.

I am well aware I'm not dealing with audiophile equipment, but I do expect some minimal level of audio competence.

I've got a LOT of diagnosis/troubleshooting ahead of me, and I'm probably up for the challenge.. The only thing I've played with so far has been adjusting the tracking force to spec per the service manual. I know it could be the cartridge or essentially anything in the signal path up to and including the speaker. I'm sure I'll ask later for some help with that process.

I guess what I'm asking now is: am I wasting my time? Do 1968 Magnavoxes just not get any better than this behavior? I can't believe the levels of distortion I'm hearing was acceptable then, so I've got to believe I just need to tweak the system to make it decent. But without anti-skate and other adjustments available... is this just what the inner tracks of records sounded like in 1968 with a ceramic-cartridge family console stereo? Or do you guys think I can make this thing sing better?

Thanks for your opinions in advance.

Please register to disable this ad.

2. olddude55

olddude55 AK Subscriber Subscriber