Newbie here looking for advice jbl 250ti

Ally

Hello everyone, i inherited a set of jbl 250ti speakers and i'm looking to restore them. I have the speaker end of it handled, having new foams and one cone professionally installed. It's the cabinets that i'm leary about restoring and i really don't know what to do. They have some imperfections, chips on the base, and color loss where something was spilled down the side of one, and where i used goof off to get crayon marks off of the bottom of one. I'm afraid to just start sanding on them, and then trying to match the color to their original factory color seems like it will be difficult (i think they are teak???). I've included pictures on the post, so if you guys have some tips it would be much appreciated.20170314_185818.jpg 20170314_185803.jpg 20170314_185818.jpg20170314_185813.jpg 20170314_185825.jpg

You lucky dog! There are plenty of restoration threads here and some of the best minds and hands I've seen bringing really hard cases back to life. Welcome.

Are mine the oiled teak cabinets? And is the wood actually teak? My questions are going to be totally ameturer, so please bear with me lol

Are mine the oiled teak cabinets? And is the wood actually teak?
They look Teak to me and it's veneer, the only solid wood is the bull nose @ the 90 degree turns. I'm a furniture finisher by trade and you look like you pretty handy so I can guid you to do a easy and very nice finish.

You might want to buy a spray mask, and a box of latex gloves that can handle being in lacquer thinner.

The cabinets now have teak oil on them, you can wash it off fairly easy with lacquer thinner and lots of rags. Two gal. of thinner will be plenty, and you''ll want to do it outside for fresh air. I say lots of rags and thinner because your washing off the oil and as the rags get dirty you get new ones. When the rags don't get very dirty anymore, you have successfully washed 98% of the oil out of the wood and your done with the stripping.