Newbie needs help on Marantz Amp

blitzgritz

Natural Sounds
G'day everyone,

I'm new to all this great vintage audio stuff. I have found a new passion !!

Anyway....I purchased a Marantz 1060 on Ebay and it has just arrived.
I haven't connected any speakers to the amp yet....thought I better do a DC offset reading first.

The reading I'm getting is ....12 volts left channel and zero volts right channel
[Multimeter set to VDC] # note right channel get no reading even when multimeter is set to ma setting too

What does all this mean ?.....thought I'd better ask before I connect my good Luxman speakers into this puppy

Please help

Cheers from down under

Welcome to AK! This amp has quasi-complementary outputs, running from an 80V supply to ground. As such, the output must sit at 1/2 of the supply voltage and it swings from 40V up to 80V and down to ground. When there is no signal it sits at 40V. You can't put 40V across your speakers so there is a large capacitor in series with the output to block the DC voltage. With no load connected at the output it is possible for the capacitor to retain some charge, and you will measure a voltage there. If you connect your speaker the voltage will be discharged. It is possible for the capacitor to be leaky, in which case you would get 12V on your speaker; not good. My advice is to connect a set of expendable speakers and measure the voltage. If it drops to 0V, go ahead and connect your Luxman speakers. There is no DC offset adjsutment on this amp, however there is an adjustment for the 40V "center voltage"
Perform these adjustments with the speakers disconnected!
Insulate the meter probe with electrical tape so only the tip is exposed, to avoid shorting something out if you slip!