Newbie Transistor Search.

btus

First off.Happy New Year Everyone!! I'm new to this section of Audio Karma but .not new to the site.I read it often and marvel at the wisdom of some,laugh at the antics of others.Now,my problem.I picked up a 1070 Amp off ebay.It arrived today! Problem is the left channel was sounding great then it quit when I pushed the loudness button.I released the button and tried it again.She fired up,played about five minutes and the left channel dropped out again.I looked it over closely but couldn't see any obvious signs of the cause.I recalled reading about a member with a similar problem.He was told to check his output transistors while troubleshooting the cause.Anyway,I swapped my outputs around and got the left side to play.The right side with the suspect transistor in it now doesn't play! Think this may be my fix? If so,where can I purchase new outputs? The part number is;2SD388-S48.Any help that anyone can give will be much appreciated.Thanks!

I would try cleaning all then contols with Deoxit, especially the loudness button, where it seems your trouble might have started.

Newbie Transistor Search

Thanks for your reply and advice! After I fired it up to see what it would do,I I shut it down and sprayed all the switches with Deoxit.The sound was better but the left channel didn't show up for the game.

Changing components around is not a good idea until you have pinned down the cause of a problem. :no:

Anyways, right now, which channel is playing and which isn't?

Your 1070 has separate power and preamp. :banana: Can you try the Main In input from another source? If so, determine if the power amp or the preamp is the problem.

Then we find a solution. :yes:

tim in pa said:
the 2ds-388 equates to a NTE 280 (Si-npn), and the compliment (Si,pnp) would be a NTE-281. avail;able most anywhere. try here: www.nteinc.com