Nice Marantz Score! (LOTS of pics)

teleking36

Hey everyone,

I'm new to the forum, and this is my first post. I've recently become extremely lucky enough to take possession of a few high end vintage Marantz pieces, which include the following:

(2) Model 9 Power Amps
(1) 10B FM Tuner
(1) 7T Preamp

I'm a guitarist, and have extensive experience with guitar tube amps, but I don't really know the in and outs of the high end home audio market. I'd love to gain some insight as to how I should approach servicing these pieces, as well as marketing them for sale. I understand that they fetch quite a bit of money, so I want to make sure I'm as educated as possible on these items. Here are a few pictures:

DSCN9906.jpg

DSCN9922.jpg

DSCN9951.jpg

DSCN9958.jpg

you'd hate me more if you found out how i actually came to own these....:yes:

FWIW, the 9s and the 10B appear to have the original glass, with the former being loaded with Philips EL34s and the latter loaded with a mix of Amperex, Mullard, Sylvania pres. The hammercoat finish on the 9s is in excellent shape, as well as all the brushed stainless steel front panels on each piece.

Last edited:
I was doing some work for a contractor friend at a vacant home that is scheduled to be demolished within the next week or so. The only thing left in this house was the shaggy carpet, fireplace cover, and the stereo system. That's it. At the time (and this is somewhat embarrassing), I didn't even know the name, but the worksmanship and the build quality seemed to be top notch. The 9s are some heavy bastards too! With all that weight, I didn't think they were junk. I called the contractor before snagging them, just to make sure they weren't spoken for. He thanked me for checking, and told me I could take them. This stuff would've honestly gone down with the house!!!

Whoa!! I wouldn't even consider selling them unless I was in dire straights. Those would be a permanent fixture.