Nice Photos

Very nice indeed!!:D

Should have hired him to shoot the shots of my restored QRX-9001! I'm a lot better engineer than a photographer!:dunno:

Also, I'm curious as to why Sansui put a Toroidal transformer in the QRX-9001 but not in the 9090DB?:dunno: Most likely due to the combination of space constraints along with the increased power filter caps (40,000uf total). The amp driver board looks virtually identical, except the QRX-9001 has two of them (four channels worth). :D :D

But, they are beautiful aren't they!:cool:

Yes, the torodial X-former not being in the 9090DB is noteworthy. Score 1 point for the 120W G-8000 which does have it. The G-9000 does also, but the G-9000 is 160W. The G-8000's lower wattage is a more fair comparison to the 9090DB. Let it also be noted, the 120W G-7700 also does not have a toroidal.

B/F

Ah...., what the hell- I might as well live-it-up before I hit 40 in approximately 2 months + a few days (Dec 7) and it all goes friggin' downhill from there, Lets have a toast to toroidal transformers! :beer:

Toroidal transformers

That is an awesome picture B/F........G-9000 or G-9000 "DB"?

It's why I still drool over my G-9000.........I've got absolutely no use for it, but I can't imagine giving it up!! Aren't we all that way?

My only hope is to pick up another to make my QRX-9000 to tide me over 'till I find the elusive QRX-33000...............or is that the beer talking!:dunno:

And, I think I'd need more than my measly 2 1/2 acres to keep from annoying the neighbors if I was running 160wpc X 4 channels into my Klipsch LaScallas!:uzi:

Here's my G-8000, from '78

I noticed that all the G-8000s I've seen don't have the cool toroidal sticker on the transformer, unlike the G-9000 pics.

I want a cool sticker!!

Last edited: