Nikko TRM-1200 Pop and distortion

JGamez

First and foremost...hello to all! First post and all...

I've decided I needed to make my life more complicated and full of disappointments so I've started buying vintage amps. My first foray into this world is a very clean Nikko TRM-1200.

Everything mostly works and I've gotten rid of some minor issues by cleaning the pots but one major issue remains. When turning on the amp, there is a loud POP on the right output and the vu meter spikes monetarily. During playback, audio is distorted on that channel but only on that channel.

I should also note that when using the Nikko as a pre-amp, everything is perfect...no distortion.

I'm a novice so I could use some guidance...where do I start? Has anyone had this particular issue with this amp? Thanks for your time!

Yep! Hopefully it is just an adjustment, but my thought is something else is causing it, like a bad cap.

I once had that TRM-1200, and I think it is a gorgeous unit that has good power for its ratings. The only fault with mine was it didn't have all its original knobs. Really well made too!

Probably bad output transistor or diode. The output stage is fairly simple, but to get zero offset both the top and bottom parts have to match - 10V DC means one of them is out of sorts. If you're lucky, it may just be a bad resistor.
Any DC offset problems are only in the output stage (nothing on the other side of the drive transformer affects offset)
There are no adjustments for bias and offset. There is a service manual available at hifiengine.com . Free, but have to register.

So I just read how to check DC offset...

Left: 0.0 vdc
Right: 10.50 vdc

Oh boy.

So, you have 10.5 volts of DC offset on one channel. And the speaker relay is clicking at power up? It's not staying in protection?

So, you have 10.5 volts of DC offset on one channel. And the speaker relay is clicking at power up? It's not staying in protection?