No power on 4300

deedawson

Hey all, I am in high hopes of restoring a 4300 quad. I received this unit free but not working. It appears to be in great shape cosmetically. I plan on replacing capacitors one board at a time starting with the power supply. However, before I get involved in doing anything with this unit I need to restore power first. I replaced the main fuse and power supply fuse as well. Still no power, not blowing fuses either. Power at switchable outlet as well as constant. Power on the switchable outlet powers on with power button pressed. I am a novice here so still learning. I feel like my first step should be testing the transformer input power as well as output. Should the schematic show with wires are which for testing purposes? Would any of you guys suggest a different path? suggestions are appreciated. Thank you in advance!

Just to be sure, is it possible it is powering up but the lights aren't getting power? Have you hooked up speakers yet?

Thanks for the response, I actually pulled an old speaker out last night to confirm that but didn't get to check it yet. Will check this afternoon. However, shouldnt I hear the relay click after initial start?

If it's operating properly you should hear the relay. But it isn't uncommon for there to be a problem in the unit that causes it to go into protection. It's a shot in the dark, but since the switched outlet works, power is getting to the unit via the power switch. Hopefully it's something simpler than a blown transformer. Others here are better equipped to help you with in depth trouble shooting. I'm just trying to eliminate the simple stuff.
Steve

Well, no luck. I tried connecting a speaker to the receiver to see if it was just the lights out. No relay click. No lights. No sound.

Find the phase converter board (PM01), it's on the bottom by the transformer. DMM across JM03 (+) and JM04 (-), should be 35V, R806 on the power supply board adjusts it.