Onkyo Integra A-8087, keeps blowing fuse

Kreek123

Hello, I'm fairly new to this level of electronic repairs. I've rebuilt several antique radios with no troubles, and have done tuneups on several guitar amplifiers with no troubles. But this one, is a little daunting, but I'd love to be able to fix it on my own. The amp is an Onkyo Integra model A-8087. I've inspected the amp visually and find no obvious or glaring issues. The amp has a 7amp main fuse, and it blows almost immediately when powering on the amp. I powered the amp up with a variac and a dim-bulb tester, and the bulb lights very brightly. I don't really even know where to start looking. Any help would be appreciated.

Greetings and welcome to AK.!
service manual here free to join no nags or hacks.
https://www.hifiengine.com/manual_library/onkyo/a-8087.shtml

Not bad schema. I have a-8057 model.
For certain you have a short. could be the output transistors or in the power supply region. dim bulb tester is enough for this testing variac not needed. All testing is done with no speakers connected or any input loads. I'd put the unit in Aux. and vol. off etal.

I would unsolder the leads of the output transistors from the main board no need to pull. then run another dbt test. if fuse still blows then most likely in the power supply or down stream short possible.

here's a link from member 'avionic' for testing the transistors with your dmm with pics. (ty avionic. :D)

any help needed we're here. considering your previous experience pretty sure you'll adapt to SS easy. if you have an o'scope you could really shine but dmm can get you by.
bink :D

Well that's a very encouraging response, thank you! I was worried I'd be told to go back to my radios until I learned more! :) I do have an oscilloscope available for testing. I'll do what you suggest, unsolder the output transistor leads and test again.

Also, I don't see any link for the transistor testing. Am I missing it?

Thanks again.