Opinions on cap kit

kn8243

Guy on the bay has a kit for restoring an array of fishers. Since I have not tackled restoring one yet i'm thinking about purchasing a kit from him. anyone purchase one from him? I'm dying to get my 400 up and running. Aside from what he provides and the selenium bridge what else should I purchase.

Thank you all.

I have used Metalbone and have been happy with his service and parts on both a 400 and 800c.

As Audiodon asked "have you done this kind of thing before?".

You have to know soldering, schematics, etc.

I have used Metalbone and have been happy with his service and parts on both a 400 and 800c.

As Audiodon asked "have you done this kind of thing before?".

You have to know soldering, schematics, etc.

This would be my first. I'm still learning a great deal. Not a whole lot of 22 yr olds know how to do it so that is the most enticing thing about it. I restored the car in my avatar so i'm looking for another challenge, this time a little smaller. If need be I can just ask my uncle who just so happens to be an electrical engineer. So its a stepping stone but i'm familiar with soldering and stuff. Green light on this project?

Yep. You've got the requisite skill to know how to perform mechanical tasks, how and when to walk away, and how and when to ask for help, you're halfway there.
Green light.

Code:
Yep. You've got the requisite skill to know how to perform mechanical tasks, how and when to walk away, and how and when to ask for help, you're halfway there.
Green light.

Haha. Thank you for the green light. Won't lie the underside of these old amps are legit insane. Won't lie its very scary. haha. I'm just glad i have AK to post questions if I run into any. Other than the kit which replaces all the underside caps is there anything else I have to purchase, the large caps on top, ect. I want this thing to last me forever...

Do one set of things at a time. The metalbone kit is a good start and will sharpen your skills.