Optimus CD-7200 Missing Lens

Rebooted

The title pretty much says it all. Someone gave me an Optimus CD-7200 Six-disc changer saying that it wouldn't read discs. I tried cleaning it with no luck and eventually took it apart for a visual inspection. Upon removing the pickup section, I realized that the lens was missing. I've checked everywhere inside the unit and have been unable to find it. Unfortunately, Google turned up that this isn't the first time this model has had this problem.

I'm fairly new to working on CD players like this one, but my question is can I pull a lens from a different CD player and glue it in place? How precise does the geometry have to be to make it work? If the lens is slightly larger/smaller will it fail? If it sits a hair higher or lower than the original lens will it have trouble focusing?

I'm hoping someone in the forum is a bit of an expert and save me hours of testing and just point me in the right direction. Thanks

Attachments

• 20170823_115653_small.jpg
    20170823_115653_small.jpg
    57.7 KB · Views: 21
I pictured the lens hitting the spinning disk and getting flung into the chassis somewhere. Its tiny, so Iit could have gotten jammed under anything. Like a resistor, cable, wire, ect. But it could have wound up on the disc or tray and fell out after removing the disc. I have a CD-6000 that has worked great all these years. Hope you find it!

I was really hoping that it would at least be rattling around in the bottom somewhere, but no such luck :(