Optimus Pro 77's.....good?

DaddyOfTwo

Budget Audio Enthusiast
Found a pair of these last night at a local SA. They feel heavy and have metal enclosures and are in pretty good shape, minus some paint scratches on the grills.

I've never used an RS speaker before this, so I am curious as to your personal experiences and opinions of them.

Have a pair. Think Minimus 7 on steroids. The Pro 77 is much better.
Per the specs more bottom end and more seamless transition between drivers. But that's going by specs and most of what I've read. I tried something for fun and that was play the 7's alongside another pair of speakers and with some material I noticed overall improvements. Where the 7's were weak the other speakers filled in, as well as just the opposite.

SoCal Sam and Copa1934 -- Thanks for your responses and opinions. I picked 'em up at $12.00 for the pair and will be using them as outdoor speakers on the back patio. I plan on hooking them up and testing them out this weekend.

Gus

I have a pair and use them for my computer speakers. They sound great for that purpose. I don't think the drivers especially the foam surround woofers will weather very well outside. The surrounds tend to rot out. Mine are still OK. They have an odd size surround I've read is unavailable.

I have a pair of Minimus 77's and a pair of Optimus Pro X77's. Had to replace surrounds on both. Caution-measure carefully as RS changed woofer size somewhere along the line. Good sounding speakers. Better than the Minimus 7's.

Surrounds - Minimus 77 & Optimus Pro 77

HTHMAN --

I know that this is an older thread, but where did you find/get the surrounds for the Minimus 77's and the Optimus Pro 77's???

I ask, because I have a set of both speakers,

Please let us know.

Thanks in advance!

The Pro 77's are the big brother to the Minimus 7's and I believe they sound very good in a small to med room.