Oscilloscope any good for beginner??

Discussion in 'DIY' started by Dearslayer, Mar 3, 2017.

1. Dearslayer

Dearslayer AK Subscriber Subscriber

Hi.... Hope this is the correct area to post this question.....I'm fairly new to audio restoration but would like to get some tools to learn on. There is an Oscope in the local Ads here in Canada and the seller is asking for $300.00 for a Tektronix TDS 1002 and will throw in a Commercial probe ( whatever that is ) Is this a fair price and is it any good for a beginner like myself???

Thanks
    G.T.

Edit ....just realized that maybe Barter town would have been the correct area??

Please register to disable this ad.

2. dlucy

dlucy dlucy67 (Doug) Subscriber

If your budget is $300, then you'd should consider buying new. The Rigol DS1054Z is only $399 at Amazon http://a.co/0o8Du3C and has all the features, bells and whistles you could want.

EEvblog has many threads on "best oscilloscope" and "cheap starter oscilloscope". The video review of the Rigol really pushed me to stop looking for a better and better used scope and move up to the Rigol. So far I love it.

If your budget were only $50-$150, I'd say a used analog scope off eBay or Craigslist would be a better route. There are lots of Textronix, HP, and B&K Precision units to be had. You'd want at least two channels, but the speed (MHz) of the unit is so important if you're only doing audio work with it.

wcarroll likes this.
  3. TerryS

TerryS AK Subscriber Subscriber

The TDS 1002 is a nice scope. It is what I use. Nice and small and light. Doesn't take up much space on the bench. Of course you pay for the Tektronix name. The post above is an excellent suggestion. For about the same price, you get a new scope with a color display.