People with Tannoy knowledge...

WhiteSE

Is Lute Gluten Free??
Subscriber
Will these Tannoy 12" Monitor Gold HPD co-axial alnico speakers from 1974 compete or do better than the D500's with my setup?

1099927218.jpg

1099927219.jpg

1099927221.jpg

I can't comment on that comparison, but can you give us an idea of the price range? Are you looking at used or new D500s, and how much are they?

I'm no Tannoy expert and know nothing about D500's but those alnico Gold's look VERY nice, especially if the price is right.

Those look like Cheviots to me. I'd make sure the foam surround is intact as it is prone to rot after 20+ years. I own the exact speakers you are looking at and find them to be an excellent speaker. My speaker tech owns a pair and has told me that they are one of his favorite drivers. The cabinet is the weak spot for those drivers. It is narrow thus not allowing for much low bass. I haven't converted mine ot a bigger cab but will in the summer as I hear it improves the bottem end alot. I find the bass is really detailed and smooth with these speakers. Top end a touch rolled off, although you could add a super tweeter on top if so inclined. Here's a pic of mine.

What power amp are you using? I'm using a Threshold S/150 and I'll testify that this is one oof the nicest speaker/amp combos I've come across yet.

Price of the Cheviots is between $300.00-$700.00 depending on condition ect. I picked mine up for $150.00 Canadian and had a friend redo the surrounds for me. As for the D500's....they look nice but I can't respond as I've never heard a pair. Maybe someone else has.

Tannoy.jpg

Last edited:
The Cheviots are 800...quite a lot but they seem in excellent shape...The D-500's are local in Atlanta for 1100...they are used as well.