Philips AH578 destroying resistors on driver boards, please help!

RRLegend

This thread may sound familiar. Last week I met a fellow AK'er through a CL ad. We got to talking and, while I was interested in his Philips 578 knowing it had some problems, he was interested in trading for a Kenwood receiver I had. Ended up we are within a mile of each other and we have a lot in common and it was great meeting another hifi fanatic!

I'm still learning troubleshooting and was wondering if i could get some assistance. I haven't powered the amp up but was told when it's turned on, it goes into protection mode and/or burns up R232 on the driver board.

I managed to remove one of the driver boards and took some pictures of it and where it's located in the schematic.

So, I've located the burnt resistor on the schematic. In my mind the logical thing to remove and check next would be transistor Q209 which appears to be just upstream from R232. Any other ideas??

One more important note. I was told that after replacing R232 on one board, R232 on the other driver board fried. Logically I would tend to think that a component is screwed up that is common to both boards (or supplying both boards. The protection board is the last circut before g the signal goes to the speakers, correct?

This is where I'm at and with your help would like to learn how to do this on my own.

Attachments

• DSC_0008.jpg
    DSC_0008.jpg
    32.4 KB · Views: 112
  • DSC_0007.jpg
    DSC_0007.jpg
    31.4 KB · Views: 96
  • DSC_0009.jpg
    DSC_0009.jpg
    72 KB · Views: 161
  • DSC_0010.jpg
    DSC_0010.jpg
    103.2 KB · Views: 164
Q209 is a driver, which could certainly cause issues, but also check the output transistors.

Boy that is one sh*tload of power resistors on a single board... guess they're cheaper than transformer windings...

Out of the 16 output transistors, one tested bad.