Phono Preamp Advice...Dynavector Karat 23RS

SeriouSamuel

I have a Rega Planar 3 turntable with a Moth MK3 tonearm and a Dynavector Karat 23RS. I need advice on which phono preamp to purchase because I am new to moving coil setups.

The Schiit Mani is in my price range and claims that it is compatible with both MM and MC setups.

http://www.schiit.com/products/mani

Is this a good choice or are there better alternatives? Any advice is welcome.

Cheers!

S

I ran a Dynavector Ruby in a Rega P5 for two years. With low output moving coil carts like the Dynavector you need gain (which the Mani has) and an ability to change impedance loading, which the Mani does not have. (It's set at 47 ohm). 100 ohm seems to be the "standard" for MC cartridges if the loading is fixed in a phono stage. The rule of thumb on MC loading is to multiply the internal resistance of the cartridge by 10 and use that as a starting point. Adjust up or down to find the setting you like. If I recall, the DV has a resistance of 30 Ohm.

I liked my Dynavector loaded at 275 ohm, but it also sounded good at 100 ohm. I thought it started to sound sluggish at loading below 100 ohm.

Alternatives that I tried included an Emotiva XPS-1 which has a 100 ohm option or the Lehmann Black Cube that can accept resistors to create custom loading (no soldering required). The Emotiva is under $ 200 and offers a 30 day return period. You'd have to find the Black Cube used to get near that price point. I'd suggest looking for a unit that fits your budget and offers the widest range of settings you can find. That way it can serve you well as you change cartridges.

If you have a MM phono stage, another option would be to put a Step Up Transformer between your turntable and the phono amp. I haven't tried this myself, but lots of people like the sound they get from a SUT better than the sound they get from a MC phono stage.