Photo tutorial: how to adjust the bias on a Technics SA-600

Gnesen

AK Subscriber
Subscriber
I recently posted about a nice Technics SA-600 receiver that I picked up and that I had adjusted the bias because it was a bit high. A couple of people reached out asking how to adjust the bias, so this post is about how I went about it.

I started tinkering on amps and receivers as a total novice about 5 years ago and greatly appreciated all the knowledge and help on this board. To be honest, it was all very daunting and I imagine others may feel the same. Here's a minor attempt at paying it forward. Those more knowledgeable are welcome to critique or add to what I have posted below.

DISCLAIMERS: (1) I am not a trained technician, but I've done a lot of reading and have recapped and serviced quite a few units. (2) Be careful. An accidental slip with a probe or screwdriver can and will mess up either you and/or your receiver.

=====================
Items needed:

1) Service manual (download available at HiFi Engine). This is the most important page for setting the bias, but the full manual also tells the best way to open up the unit, etc.

IMG_0303.JPG

2) Digital multimeter with probes (not clips), set to measure DC. See note in photo about use of clips vs. probes.

IMG_0312.jpg

IMG_0302.jpg

3) Flat head screwdriver.

IMG_0306.jpg

The key points on the receiver -- where to measure and where to adjust.

IMG_0300.jpg

The arrows on the photo below are an example for DMM probe location for the right channel.

IMG_0301 (3).jpg

The locations of VR601 (right channel) and VR602 (left channel) to adjust the bias voltage.

IMG_0305.jpg

The process:
1) Start with the unit turned off. The input should be set to AUX, volume to minimum, tone controls flat, loudness disengaged, no speakers attached.