Pickering XV-15

Dirkjr

I am using a vintage Marantz TT-2000 turntable with a Pickering xv-15 cartridge. Before you ask, yes it came that way, yes I got it for free. I was wondering if anyone would volunteer any information about this cartridge or turntable as I have limited knowledge of them and cant seem to find much definitive information on them, although I do have the manual/ original receipt for the turntable. Once again, any information/advice would be helpful.

1) Vinyl Engine has all sorts of cartridge info.
2) When not covered in white paint, it's called a Stanton 680.

The Pickering XV-15 was around for a very long time, since the late 60’s, and as Sam said, is identical to the Stanton 680/681 in its body – there were many variants, each with different styli. It is a moving iron cartridge, and the best variants were Pickering’s best for some time (late 60’s to mid-70’s) until the XSV-3000 moving magnet cartridge took over the crown. A moving iron cartridge uses a light piece of moving iron, attached to the opposite end of the cantilever from the stylus tip, to vary the magnetic field from a large fixed magnet, and so produce a voltage in the coils of wire in the body.

There are quite a number of styli that fit the body, with tracking weights ranging from ¾ to 5 grams – the better they are, the larger the number, ranging from the best 1800S stereohedron (roughly similar to the Stanton 681EEE-S) and the nude elliptical 1200E (similar to the 681EEE). In general, the more expensive the stylus, the better. The more expensive variants, which are more compliant and have lower tracking weights, will work best with your tonearm, which has a fairly light effective mass. You can find more info on the XV-15 here http://www.vinylengine.com/library/pickering/xv-15.shtml , and there’s a 1974 review of several XV-15 models, including the best elliptical XV-15 1200E here http://www.vinylengine.com/turntable_forum/viewtopic.php?f=65&t=36172 .