Pimp my JVC SX-911. Good thing or blasphemy?

Amilius One

Hi! I'm new to the scene! I have a beautiful pair of these monstrous (30Kg piece) speakers from the early 80's that I'm thinking of customizing just a little. They're flawless in looks but the bass is a little dry and the mid-range is a bit "canned up" (as in "sounds trapped, like in a can"). Would it be a good idea to clothe it internally with some dampening material and mount a bass reflex pipe to the back - also - replace the old connectors with new gold plated speaker connectors for use with banana plugs?? Or should i just try to punch it up with an EQ instead, not to ruin the vintageality of the set? Also, I haven't found any posts or threads on these speakers on the forum. Am I the only one who has them? Image is not mine.
358e12ub4.jpg

Thank you for the info. I'd say the speakers are at least +20 years old. What's meant by the "crossover" and what is fixed by replacing the caps? Thx.

the crossover is most likley a small board inside the box with a component or two on it.. most likley there is a capacitor or two, and there may be a inductor..
capacitors look like a tiny beercan and the inductor might look like a coil of wire (might be shrinkwrapped)

now what i would do is inspect the crossover and read all the ratings of the capicators,
might be something like 3.3UF 100v or something.. they might be rated in MDF which is the same thing.

anyways usually caps are used to filter out sounds so they dont reach the speakers that shouldent be making it. the caps are most likley responsible for the tweeter and midrange sound.. and the inductor is what filters the high sounds from reaching your woofer..
however a cap can still be used to filter highs from a woofer. but i dont think it is as common..