1. Time for some upgrades in server hardware and software to enhance security and take AK to the next level. Please contribute what you can to sales@audiokarma.org at PayPal.com - Thanks from the AK Team
    Dismiss Notice

Pioneer Capacitors

Discussion in 'Pioneer Audio' started by SargentRicko, May 25, 2016.

1. SargentRicko

SargentRicko New Member

I'm a novice when it comes to electronics, I have a 38 year old Pioneer SX-780 that I plan on restoring. I have been doing some extensive research on the web, and what I found I wish to share as it might be useful information to others. I obtained a copy of both the SX-780 "User Manual" and "Service Manual" on the web. The Service Manual has the blueprint schematic and parts list. I found that the original part numbers (p/n's) are now obsolete, but the parts list still has valuable information which will become more apparent as we move forward.

I found a booklet entitled "Tuning Fork No. 2" which is all about Pioneer Capacitors of the late 1970s. Here is some info that I extracted from that booklet that I found useful in combination with the obsolete P/N list that I have in my SX-780 Service Manual:

PIONEER CAPACITOR PART NUMBER
    The Pioneer Part number of Capacitor is broken down into seven codes:
    P/N CEANL101M50NP
    CE.....A.....NL.....101.....M.....50.....NP
    [1].....[2]....[3].......[4].....[5].....[6].....[7]

[1] = Type of capacitor . [2] = Form . [3] = Characteristics
    [4] = Nominal Capacitance . [5] = Tolerance . [6] Maximum working voltage
    [7] = miscellaneous (NP is used exclusively to indicate a non-polar electrolytic capacitor).

THE BREAKDOWN

[1] Type of Capacitor

There were fifteen types of capacitors used in Pioneer Stereos of the late 1970s. The Pioneer capacitor part number will begin with one of these 2 or 3 digit codes:
    CE - Aluminum Electrolytic Capacitor
    CSY - Solid Aluminum Electrolytic Capacitor
    CSS - Solid Aluminum Electrolytic Capacitors for Coupling