Pioneer help for noob...

Discussion in 'Pioneer Audio' started by arcspark, Feb 3, 2018.

1. arcspark

arcspark New Member

Hopin somebody can provide some steerage for me...long time fan of ak some posts years ago but now im at it again....my original sx424 from college days has been idle for long time but decided to fire it up again and yesterday when i turned it on it clicked like the protect circuit is working but for the first time ever....no lights anywhere...so not wanting to do the wrong thing can anybody advise some steps to check this out...slowly as im a noob but might be able to follow directions...at least i could explain it to somebody else who does undedstand if i have to...thanks for listening, arc

2. arcspark

arcspark New Member

Not yet....ok

3. zebulon1

zebulon1 Getting behind on work. I need help? Subscriber

It needs a good Deoxit treatment.
    Plug it back in and select the FM tuner. Spin the dial and see if the signal meters work. Tune in a station.
    The dial lighting works when you are in FM or AM. Off when in another function.

4. arcspark

arcspark New Member

Well i wish it was that simple but i must not be getting power on thru. Does not light up at all regardless of function switch. Will have to look closer at things....

5. Cuppy

Cuppy AK Subscriber Subscriber

It looks like there is a 3 amp fuse from the transformer secondary that feeds the dial lamps and dial pointer. You will have to pull the cover and bottom panel and try to locate.

6. Noodle

Noodle LISTEN! I smell Hi-Fi. Subscriber

What's worse is the 424 has no protection circuit, sounds like the main fuse popped, if you heard a click.

7. arcspark

arcspark New Member

Was aware of being careful of not crossing any stray speaker wire...hasnt been problem for 40 years...for what its worth it clicks everytime i turn it on...just like my sx 650 that works fine...any thoughts?

8. Cuppy

Cuppy AK Subscriber Subscriber