Pioneer PL-530 Restoration Project

gprels

I'm looking at a PL-530 available locally that needs a lot of work. I have a PL-200 that I'm using now, but I was thinking of picking up a long-term project on the side. Here are some pictures: https://imgur.com/a/Mwz5pzc

Here is the description:

"PL-530 for parts or restoration, some issues with the unit: crack in front of plinth (pictured) no dust cover, and tone arm is a bit loose.. **Though it does power on, platter spins and 33/45 speeds seem accurate, light works and tone arm returns auto... if you're knowledgeable/handy with working on these turntables you could turn it into the beautiful machine it's meant to be."

Even if I bought a really clean PL-530, I would still take it apart in order to remove the vinyl from the plinth and apply real walnut veneer. I'm a woodworker, so I'm OK attempting to repair that crack/split in the plinth with some wood glue or wood filler and sanding it down. The notorious broken tonearm base doesn't seem like that bad of a repair. I noticed the aluminum center ring is missing from the platter, but I could probably have the machine shop at work make a new one if I could find the dimensions of it anywhere or measure the platter.

The biggest issue is how crazily expensive a new dustcover and parted out dustcover hinges are. I'd probably try to find someone locally to make a dustcover for hopefully less than the $150+ on the auction site. The seller says his absolute bottom price is $70. What are your thoughts on that?

I'd pass.

I know TTs can be expensive, but there are better deals out there. I picked up a Pioneer PL550 and a Technics SL1300, both in very good cosmetic shape, for $100 for the pair. No way I'd pay $70 for something that rough.

I'd pass.

I know TTs can be expensive, but there are better deals out there. I picked up a Pioneer PL550 and a Technics SL1300, both in very good cosmetic shape, for $100 for the pair. No way I'd pay $70 for something that rough.