Pioneer SX 50 vs SX 80 Series

IBSO52

So I've recently came across a few receivers in both the 50 and 80 series models. I've listened to both and I wonder what other people think.

Do they like the 50 series more?

I never really read much about the 80 series unless its the 1980.

Is the 80 series not as nice?

What are the pros / cons of both series?

I'm no pro but from my experience seems like rock / classical music plays well on the 50 series. Where the 80 series seems to handle Rap / Hip Hop better.

What do people think of the both series? I'm interested to hear what people have to say.

http://audiokarma.org/forums/index.php?threads/pioneer-sx-80-vs-50-series.414956/
http://audiokarma.org/forums/index....0-series-vs-sx-80-series-vs-sa-series.747420/
http://audiokarma.org/forums/index.php?threads/pioneer-sx-1250-vs-sx-1280.452659/
http://audiokarma.org/forums/index.php?threads/pioneer-sx-680-vs-sx-650.783139/
http://audiokarma.org/forums/index.php?threads/pioneer-sx-850-vs-pioneer-sx-980.394120/
http://audiokarma.org/forums/index.php?threads/pioneer-sx-950-vs-1080.764345/
ect.

Forgive the lighthearted links ;)

I love all the Pioneers and listened to and repaired/restored many of them.
The 80's are styled nicely and have the meters but a bit on the flimsy side - and some of the components can be troublesome to procure($$$) or work-a-round. Sound depends on the condition of the set. Original or restored?
The 50's are robust and easy to repair (For the most part). Components are readily available. Sound wise, when restored - their made for the working man.
And remember: Speaker selection is the key to the sound.

The sx-1980 is in a league of it's own. I could write a paragraph or two on it.

Last edited:
@zebulon, great articles and thanks for the links.

I would have to agree with most the 80 series does look better. Something about watching that needle bounce.

Basically the overview:

50:
Easier to find parts
"better" build quality

80: