Pioneer SX-636: first repair/recap help

darkhosis

I hope this is within the forum rules, I decided to start a new thread regarding my SX-636 project. I have been trying to work on something without knowing exactly what I'm looking for, which I don't feel comfortable with. So before I completely ruin this receiver I wanted to back up and ask the forum members for assistance. Also, the original thread - regarding the fuse replacement - was solved so in a sense that issue is resolved. Thanks for your patience and help. shoutout to petehall347 Bassblaster larryderouin and others for the previous advice.

I got this receiver knowing it had an issue with the right channel because I wanted to learn to fix it, and I plan on updating the parts that are recommended. Since this is my first attempt at diagnosing and recapping, I'm wanted to restate the issue so people know I'm coming at this as an eager novice. ( My goal is to be able to confidently work on my Marantz 2230 down the line which I paid considerably more than $10 for)

I think I can solder decent, it's a pencil-type (no temp control), but I have a good tip. I printed out the schematic on big 11x17 paper, but I'm not an expert in reading it. I got DMM, Dim Bulb Tester, flux.

If there's someone willing to help me take my first step (despite some work done already), I'd really appreciate it

Looks like I'll have some downtime at my job today, so I brought the SX-636 along for an inspection. Maybe there's something I missed, and I can figure out a little better how this thing works, or doesn't work.

Hooked up to the Dim Bulb Tester, this time with a 60w bulb. The DMT doesn't register much at all. Im gathering that this is a good sign.

The problem to solve before recap is with the right channel. Made the mistake of hooking up a speaker last week, horrible sound. Thru the headphones: nothing on the right side but I still hear faint signal on the left side even when the balance is all the way right.