Pioneer SX-737 rebuild BOM

loweran

I have been reading about rebuilding the SX-737 and there is a lot of good information here. There are many threads with parts referenced and Mark The Fixer (MTF) seems to be a definitive source of information here. I have user search to the best of my abilities, but cant seem to find a concise BOM for the receiver. Is there a thread someone can point me to with the list of components I should order for a rebuild?

Hello,
Since you're a new member at AK, it would be nice to know a little of your background.
Do you have any experience working with electronics? What sort of tools and equipment do you have to work with?

Hi Glen65, I am a noob. I have done some work on my guitar amps and guitars. I have done some small circuit board work. Need to brush up on my soldering, but I think I can manage. I am not an EE but can do some studying and follow directions.

I don't have any advanced equipment, but have a good soldering iron and a good DMM.

Hi Glen65, I am a noob. I have done some work on my guitar amps and guitars. I have done some small circuit board work. Need to brush up on my soldering, but I think I can manage. I am not an EE but can do some studying and follow directions.

I don't have any advanced equipment, but have a good soldering iron and a good DMM.

The soldering is the most important part of this. Sub par soldering can cause a lot of headaches. Best to practice on something else instead of your receiver.

Yeah. I will practice on a sacrificial board before I touch anything.

Great, just a few questions that might help.
Can you give me some specifics on what you're using for a soldering iron and the type of tip it has?
What brand and diameter of solder are you using? What are you using to de-solder with?

I also read somewhere that the rebuild should be done in phases. I must be search impaired because I can't seem to find the post. It was something like:
  1. Power supply
  2. Protection Circuit
  3. Amp