Pioneer SX 737 speaker advice

7whales7

Addicted Member
Hello i'm new to AK,so i'm not sure if i'm posting in the right place,or if the answer is somewhere i haven't found yet?I have a SX737 and a few sets of speakers i've been trying out ,Polk monitor 7 b's and Infinity RS 7's.It seems the receiver may not have enough power to dive these speakers, i can only go a little over quarter to under half volume with out distortion/slight clipping,i did not push the issue.I thought the Polks would be more efficient than the Infinty's but they seem to distort around the same level. Is it possible the receiver has a problem?Or do these speakers need more power,which is what i'm thinking?Any suggestions on a set of speakers to run?I believe its a 35-40 wpc,its in excellent shape,room size is 12'x 12'x 8'ceiling.any suggestion would be helpful.

Well i may have answered part of my question,i had a set of Bozak L 200a's i was gonna use in my garage,(when i got around to it), medium size 2ways.they seem to do the job.However,they don't have the greatest sound.I'm assuming the other speakers just use or need more power.Just looking for a good sounding vintage speaker to match this receiver. I've heard some of the older KLH'S & EPI's, and Dynaco's A-25's?(i have no experience with them)?Any ideas?

Klipsch KG4. They are effecient enough for the SX-737 to drive, readily available and easy to upgrade (Crites diaphragms) if you get the bug.

Your Pioneer should power most speakers fine in that size room, the exception being extremely inefficient ones. The sound of speakers is tremendously varied. I would recommend searching out different ones on Craigslist or at rummage/garage sales, then listening to them. If you decide you don't like a pair, and you haven't paid too much, you can get your money back or maybe even make some $. Then it's on to the next pair, until you find what you really like and decide to keep.