Pioneer SX-828 help needed

babcoccl

Hello All,

First time poster, long time lurker. I recently bought a Pioneer SX-828 for $100 from a lady moving out of her home. She didn't know anything about it as it was her husbands and it was working "good" right up till she packed it for moving a week earlier. It was packed in the original box and had all the original documents included including the wiring diagram and cleaning cloth. I picked it up and didn't make her prove it to me or anything like that as it was clearly not her gig.

View media item 16418
1161006-4cd462498d28fc7377cdde2f79215c8a.jpg

Anyway, I got it home, hooked it up and powered it on. Lamps were flickering and would completely dim out after about a minute. Toggling the brightness button on and off would restore the lights but they would gradually dim after a minute to the point where the unit appeared to be off.

This is where I should have stopped but I'm a noob.

I turned the FM mode on. I could barely hear the radio station out of the Horn of my Realistic Mach One.
Once again, should have stopped here.

I flipped the Loudness lever to on. No more sound, no more lamps on even with toggling the dimmer button.

Here's what the current power sequence sounds/looks like:

1. Power on Speaker A.
2. Red STEREO lamp briefly Illuminates
3. Audible "Click", Red lamp shuts off.
4. No more functionality.
I did check the outer fuse is fine and "seated".

I opened the unit up and gave it a vacuum and took off the cover and bottom plate.

I went to the power supply board and measured the voltages on the pins as described in the wiring diagram. Here they are

Pin 2 - Actual 12.1V, Expected 12.0V
Pin 4 - Actual 4.1V, Expected 4.5V
Pin 5 - Actual 31.6V, Expected 32V
Pin 6 - Actual 31.4V, Expected 31V
Pin 7 - Actual 35.6V, Expected 35V
Pin 14 - Actual 43.5V, Expected 44V
Pin 15 - Actual -43.5, Expected -44V

None of these values seem terribly out of line to me but I'd be interested to hear other opinions.