Pioneer SX-850 No relay click

jwallace2011

Hello,

My name is Justin and I'm a band director. I was cleaning out the attic of our band hall and came across an old Pioneer SX-850 stereo receiver. I plugged it in, and unfortunately, I got no sound. All the lights work, but no sound. Actually, one day I plugged it in and the relay clicked and all was well, but I bumped something in the back (power cable?) and the sound went off again.

So... I started looking through your forums here and followed some of the steps outlined in similar situations; I removed the top and bottom covers and took some readings with a multimeter on the power supply board. There were some discrepancies:

pin 6, 7: 49.6
pin 8, 9, 10: -00.7 (supposed to be 36.5)
pin 11: 0.1 (supposed to be 28)
pin 13: -13.3
pin 14: -51.8
pin 15: -19.4

I'm an amateur, and not sure where to go from here. Any help would be greatly appreciated, as this would be a very useful piece of equipment to have around the band hall!

Thanks,
Justin

Hopefully, it is straight forward. Check r5 (150 ohm) resistor on the power supply board. Problem most likely is Q5 open, or r5 open. Also look for bad solder connections in the general area of the transistor. Transistor is 2sc1318 - MTF (Mark the fixer - resident AK pioneer guru) recommends KSC2073 transistor - available from mouser part 512-KSC2073TU. Good luck with it. Steve
BTW, welcome to AK

One more tip - make sure basing is correct if you change the transistor. The center lead on both these transistors is the collector. Since it is an NPN transistor, the transistors will conduct from the base to the collector and emitter on diode check. Lets you quickly identify base, collector, and emitter.

it should be 2sc1318, ksc2383, mouser # ksc2383ybu. I think Segor was looking at a SX-950. I'm working on the same problem on mine.

it should be 2sc1318, ksc2383, mouser # ksc2383ybu. I think Segor was looking at a SX-950. I'm working on the same problem on mine.