1. Time for some upgrades in server hardware and software to enhance security and take AK to the next level. Please contribute what you can to sales@audiokarma.org at PayPal.com - Thanks from the AK Team
    Dismiss Notice

Pioneer SX-880 Cutting out

Discussion in 'Pioneer Audio' started by coreseller, Sep 5, 2006.

1. coreseller

coreseller New Member

Howdy people, I'm a newby here but I've been a fan for awhile of the SX Pioneer silver face receivers. I have been picking them up here and there for a few years but it seems as if each one has it's own peculair problem (not holding FM stations, AM sections etc.) . Anyway, my real question is this; I have a very nice SX-880 right now in my garage that I just switched out an ailing SX-780 for. The 880 sounds great, all tuner sections work well, the problem is that it shuts off when turned up near or over the 8 to 9 o'clock position. It will come back on with an audible (from the receiver, not through the speakers) click when I turn the volume back down. I really don't want to take it in for work and I have done some simple repairs on these type of things in the past, any help would be appreciated, thanks.....Mark.

Please register to disable this ad.

2. markallen

markallen Luddite Tendencies

Common Problem SX-880/890 Series

Not the classic symptoms, but I'm still going to guess the problem is a common one for which this model is known. I've had four SX-880/890 series and three came with this problem. I'll go out on a limb and say it wouldn't be very long and your SX-880 would not click on at all when you throw the power switch.

The design is such that a particular transistor (there are three, actually, but a specific one is usually the culprit) in the power supply circuit gets VERY hot; over time, the solder joint cracks and you can have intermittent contact problems. Eventually, you'd turn the receiver on and the relay won't kick in. The dial lamps will light up, but that's it.