Please help to remove foam residue on cones

Discussion in 'General Audio Discussion' started by Gene Cho, Mar 11, 2018.

1. Gene Cho

Gene Cho Member

Hey, fellow members,

After hearing some buzzing from my Bose 901 III speakers, I ambitiously decided to challenge woofer surround repair myself, which I've never done before.

I've spent many many hours to watch videos, read instructions and others' experiences, etc.. and finally this morning, I opened the front grill on my Bose 901 and started the refoam job.

First, I have to tell you that the surrounds of my 901 are not rotted or dry-from visual inspection and touching them, they're still soft and most surrounds look OK-but I still went ahead as I really wanted to remove the buzzing and improve the sound.

But the process didn't go well as the residue on the cone was too soft and VERY hard to remove. When I tried to remove it, it looked the cone could be damaged.

In a youtube video from Simply Speakers, they recommended to use alcohol, but the unit they showed had dry foam, not soft like mine.

I tried to use my fingers to roll it, but as it is too soft and the glue is still so strong, it didn't work.

Should I try alcohol or does anyone have any suggestion?

Thank you in advance!

Attached Files:

Please register to disable this ad.

2. 62vauxhall

62vauxhall AK Subscriber Subscriber

Abrasion - sandpaper or scraping with a knife blade. With that many drivers, I don't envy your task.

I'd be concerned that chemicals (alcohol) might absorb into the cone's edge and mess up the pulp. Experimenting with alcohol plus abrasion in a small area is worth a shot as a first treatment but it won't soften the glue.

There is TV & Radio Service Solvent which might work as far as solvents go but scraping or scrubbing away the softened residue will still be required.

3. cademan

cademan Addicted Member