ilya__

So I am extremely new to building tube amplifiers. I've never done this before, but this concept intrigued me alot, therefore I decided to build one. I followed a schematic of a 20W pc tube amplifer. To my knowledge, and to checking my work multiple times, I have followed the schematic religiously. I think it's from an old Magnavox amplifier.

When the amp switches on, there is an insane amount of noise, even when there is no audio input given. The only modification I have made is that I have changed is the main power tranformer's primary voltage due to where I live. (120x2)

I'm not allowed to post the schematic's diagram, but I may link the page:

http://www.wkinsler.com/radios/7tubeamp1.html

If anyone could please dissect the schematic to see if there could be a potential problem with the design itself, that would be fantastic.
I have also takena a video of my amp groaning the noise away to glory: (One of the pre amps do not work, but then i disconnected one side of the amp, and the noise still existed)

Is it "howling" type of noise?
I suspect you may have grounded wrong side of the output transformer secondary windings and your feedback is Positive vs. Negative. I'd try disconnecting feedback, ground inputs and see what you get.
Other more experienced guys here may offer more help.
Good luck

Is it "howling" type of noise?
I suspect you may have grounded wrong side of the output transformer secondary windings and your feedback is Positive vs. Negative. I'd try disconnecting feedback, ground inputs and see what you get.
Other more experienced guys here may offer more help.
Good luck
Thank you. I have posted a video of how it sounds in my post. It sound more like a raging fighter plane actually, almost scary. I will try the modifications that you suggested.

If it only makes noise out of one channel, only that channel is backwards, it can also be caused by switching leads on the phase inverter to the output tubes