Polk RTi70 & RTi38 powered by Pioneer Spec 1, Spec 4 amps?

Turbota

Polk RTi70 & RTi38 powered by Pioneer Spec 1 & Spec 4 amps > ok?

I have sold, or I really should say; Gave away my Pioneer HMP 1500s to a friend. Anyway, I now have a vintage Pioneer Spec 1 pre-amp and a Pioneer Spec 4 power-amp (150w per channel).

I need a new set of 4 speakers. I really don't want to spend a fortune on these, so I am trying to keep the price within reason.

The Polk RTi70 Tower speakers along with the Polk RTi38 Bookshelf speakers seem to be pretty nice. Real cherry wood and all. I know looks arent everything, so, I would like to get your honest opinion on these. (I'm no expert)

rti70.jpg

Polk RTi70, $600 per pair (front speakers)

Mid/Woofer 2 - 6-1/2" Diameter (16.51cm)
Dynamic Balance drivers, shielded
Tweeter 1 - 1" Diameter (2.54cm)
Dynamic Balance® silk/polymer composite dome, shielded
Overall Frequency Response 28Hz-27kHz
Lower -3dB Limit 40Hz
Upper -3dB Limit 26kHz
Nominal Impedance 8 ohms
Recommended Amplifier Power 20-250 w/channel
Efficiency 90 dB
Crossover 2.1kHz between mid-bass drivers and tweeter; 2nd order HP/LP complement. Mylar bypass capacitor in HPF.
Inputs Dual bi-amp 5-way binding posts

rti38.jpg

Polk RTi38, $250 per pair (rear speakers mounted on stands)

Mid/Woofer 1 - 6-1/2" Diameter (16.51cm)
Dynamic Balance driver, shielded
Dynamic Balance® silk/polymer composite dome, shielded
Overall Frequency Response 38Hz-27kHz
Lower -3dB Limit 49Hz
Upper -3dB Limit 26kHz
Nominal Impedance 8 ohms
Recommended Amplifier Power 20-150 w/channel
Efficiency 89 dB
Crossover 2.2kHz between mid-bass drivers and tweeter; 2nd order HP/LP complement
Inputs 5-way binding posts

Thanks, :)
Ron

Last edited:
Hey Turbota, the Polks are quite good. However, the pricing is a little weird. Up here in Canada, the same product is 30% cheaper at retail.:eek: