Pyle PTA4 Mini Power Amplifier Review and Measurements

Discussion in 'Equipment Reviews & Opinions' started by Brickbat, Sep 18, 2017.

1. Brickbat

Brickbat Active Member

OK, first of all, I know darn well this isn’t “High End Performance” as Pyle claims. The reason I bought it is because it’s $59. It’s small, and had key features I wanted. I wasn’t expecting much, but had some hope it’d be good enough for my home office room where I have HD tuner, and a couple of PC’s streaming various sources. I design electronics for a living, so I knew the ‘2 x 120W’ claim was a load of crap, but all I wanted for this application was an honest 10W or so, so I sallied forth with the purchase. Pyle makes a half-dozen variants with different features such as MP3 players, Blue teeth, tone controls, more/less power, more/less blinking lights, etc. The PTA4 seemed like the best choice for me.
    2017-09-18 21.47.07.jpg

Unboxing it revealed a decently-well put together $59 amplifier. There’s no thick (or thin for that matter) aluminum panels, but I wouldn’t describe it as cheap or flimsy either. It’s got a painted steel sheet metal housing. I like that the front panel lettering is white on black. It won’t win any industrial design awards, but you can’t argue the practicality of that choice – it’s easy to read. Popping out a handful of screws allows the top cover to be lifted off, revealing the innards.
    2017-09-18 21.49.41.jpg
    Most of the circuitry is SMT and contained on the main PCB, including all the control pots, front panel jacks, and the power amp chip. It uses a TDA7377 power amp chip. That chip is designed for stereo BTL automotive applications, and is rated at 20W, 4 ohms, 10% THD with a 14.4 VDC supply. Specified THD drops to .03% at 10W, so that meets my needs.