Question about step up transformers

Discussion in 'Turntables' started by Maxray, Mar 18, 2017.

1. Maxray

Maxray Member

I am dying to use the phono stage in my Scott 299b with my Clearaudio Concept low voltage (.4mv output) MC cart. My understanding is the phono inputs on the 299b won't be able to deal with the low output voltage, and a step up trandsformer has been recommended.

I am currently using a Clearaudio Nano Phonostage running it into a standard line in input on the Scott.

Here is my question - are there large differences between the different step up transformers out there? I recently read a review about the Bob's devices models, and the K&K kit or assembled versions. Pretty large price difference between these. I am willing to spend the money if there is a marked audible/quality difference - curious about peoples experiences here as I am a total noob when it comes to step up transformers. Could use some guidance!

2. try1256

try1256 AK Subscriber Subscriber

I have a K&K basic SUT. Assembled it myself. Very satisfied. My cart has a .4 MV output as well. I used the 1:5 set up at first but changed to the 1:10.

3. guiller

guiller Toscaninichus Australis

The Clearaudio Nano has both MM and MC settings. I used myself a Nano with a LOMC Yamaha MC-7 to great results. So, in principle you donĀ“t need anything else besides the Nano (used in the MC setting), unless, of course, you would like to try what is the effect of a transformer + Nano (used in the MM setting).

4. sqlsavior

sqlsavior AK Subscriber Subscriber