R19 fiberglass and need opinions on my situation

tomlinmgt

AK Subscriber
Subscriber
I'm in the process of building bass traps and sound control panels for my garage listening area pictured below. For the traps I'm going to build floor to ceiling panels to triangulate the walls that form the two corners behind my speakers and will use R19 fiberglass batting as my absorption medium with the typical wood frame and burlap sandwich.

I studied the Bob Gold absorption coefficent chart (link below) and found that 6" of fiberglass battting, if given some air space behind, compares very favorably to 4" of 703. They have almost the same coefficient values across the frequency range with exception to 125hz where 6" ofthe R13 is actually 33% better than 4" thick 703. The value of the R19 is undeniable compared to the 703. To build my panels it'll take $35 to achieve the same level of performance as $210 worth of 703. And at that much value I intend to double the thickness of R19 in my panels from 6" to 12" which should add even better LF absorption.

Frequency (hz).................125...250...500..1000..2000..4000
703, plain 4" .........16" air 0.65...1.01..1.20..1.14..1.10....1.16..1.10

Unfaced 6.25" R19..16" air 0.96...1.03..1.13..1.02..1.04....1.13..1.05

http://www.bobgolds.com/AbsorptionCoefficients.htm