Radio Shack/Grommes LJ-5?

Derek G

20190113_192831.jpg 20190113_183805.jpg 20190113_183831.jpg 20190113_183921.jpg Hello,

I'm newer to these forums. Thank God for AK. I've spent the past six months diagnosing and restoring a few Marantz units. I've learned quite a bit about solid state with much help. So. Here I am. Seeking more input. I have no knowledge in Tube Audio. But I'm very curious. Everybody has to start somewhere right? Today was a good day. I acquired a mono Realist (Radio Shack Boston) amp. Cleaning out a garage. It was given to me. Unbeknownst of any working condition. I couldn't wait to come home and investigate. This lil guy cleaned up really well. I hooked it up to my dim bulb and she appears good. All the tubes fire. Anyways. I googled it up. Finding its a LJ-5. Originally a Grommes LJ-5 rebranded by the Shack. Correct me if I'm wrong. I realize this is a single mono unit and to acquire "stereo" I will need a twin. So. How do I move forward? I wouldn't mind using this amp to listen to am "mono" channels with a single speaker hooked up to a time similer speaker. How do I test this amp? Can I use one channel from a pre amp output on a receiver? Also. How do I wire a speaker to it? It has four posts. C/4/8/16. I'm assuming 4/8/16 are ohms. What is C? Do I need a speaker with 1 wire? Any help would be very appreciated. See pics. I would love to hear this thing sing. Also. Everything looks great inside but.... Do I need to recap or replace anything moving forward. Thanks in advance. :bowdown:View attachment 138578820190113_183805.jpg 20190113_183831.jpg20190113_183921.jpg

Last edited:
Yes, you can connect it to a preamp out for testing, or to a source like a CD player or PC audio (RADIO input). CONNECT A SPEAKER before you connect any input - tube amps can be VERY unhappy (involving SMOKE!) if driven without a speaker. "C" is the "Common" speaker terminal, speaker hooks from "C" to "8" if it's 8 Ohms etc.