RCA RS164A mono tube amp socket ID

Tia

Did you say birds?
Newbie here trying to power this thing up. I think something needs to go in this socket. Any help would be much appreciated. Bob
l1.JPG l2.JPG

I think that is for the indicator lamps. See if you get 6.3 VAC between the outer two pins.
If you haven't yet fired up the amp, take the tubes out when you first try it.

Reactions: Tia
OR
It could be for AC power to the record player motor, with a lead coming back after the switch. In which case it would have 120VAC on two of the three pins.
I think this answer is better than my previous, but a voltmeter will tell all.

Since there is no on/off switch on these chassis, I think it is turning the record changer on that turns the amp on, and subsequently, off.

It looks like the power cord in the bottom of the pic of your innards goes to that plug, so it might be a power take off for the phono. Don't see any fuses or even a safety cap. RWood might be correct too though.

Edit

I see RWood posted while I was pondering

Power connection to the Record player. Fisher and RCA liked using these in the 50's. Rca into the 60's. The schematic is in the 1958 Beitman's manual, Page 141. RCA RS-164.jpg

RWOOD Beat me but I had to look up the scat! It's the Power for the Phono.

Awesome job guys. Next up- I see audio in but don't see anything for audio out (speakers)..............

yes indeed, but Larry come in with da PROOF!

Last year I turned one of those into a Fender Harvard circuit. I did repurpose that power jack to feed the lamp indicators that I put behind the knobs. The trannies in this amp are perfect for a Harvard. Great Steve Cropper tone.

B6593AAE-A39F-4203-876D-6194FF3537E2_zps1hwgjm5b.JPG

Next up- I see audio in but don't see anything for audio out (speakers)..............

Below the ORANGE capacitor in your gut shot there are three wires coming in which is the OT secondary. Follow those; they should go to a terminal strip. Green is 8 ohms and black is ground.